92 Bowery St., NY 10013

+1 800 123 456 789

Journal ASAP Awards

Awards Nominations Open 

The Journal ASAP, in partnership with Academics Stand Against Poverty and the Yale University Global Justice Program, is conferring three annual awards for scholarly works on poverty. Nominations for books published in 2023 are now open. The deadline for nominations is July 31, 2024.

An ASAP Lifetime Achievement Award for constructive work related to poverty.

An ASAP Book of the Year Award for the best book on a poverty-related subject, published in 2023 and written by a single author or group of authors.

An ASAP Book of the Year Award for the best collection of poverty-related essays by different authors published in 2023.

Eligible work may contribute to the definition, description, explanation, assessment or eradication of poverty and attend to any of the special challenges poor people face in regard to nutrition, water, shelter, health and health care, sanitation, clothing and personal care, energy, education, social and political participation and respect, physical safety, family planning, environmental degradations and hazards, working conditions in employment and at home, navigating governmental agencies and the legal system, banking and credit, travel and transportation, and communications.

To send a nomination or for any questions or comments, contact Michal Apollo at

The 2023 inaugural winners are

  1. Henry Shue (Oxford) – ASAP Lifetime Achievement Award.
  2. Darrel Moellendorf – ASAP Book of the Year Award for his monograph Mobilizing Hope: Climate Change and Global Poverty.
  3. Kayleigh Garthwaite, Ruth Patrick, Maddy Power, Anna Tarrant, and Rosalie Warnock for their anthology COVID-19 Collaborations: Researching Poverty and Low-Income Family Life during the Pandemic.